Saturday, July 6, 2013

Double Crossed (Gallagher Girls #5.5, Heist Society #2.5) by Ally Carter

Macey McHenry—Glamorous society girl or spy-in-training?

W.W. Hale V—Heir to an American dynasty or master thief?

There are two sides to every coin. Whether these two can work together is a tossup.

Born into privilege, Macey and Hale are experts at mingling with the upper class. But even if they’ve never raised an eyebrow at the glitz, neither teenager has ever felt at home with the glamour.

When Macey and Hale meet at a society gala, the party takes a dangerous turn. Suddenly they’re at the center of a hostage situation, and it’s up to them to stop the thugs from becoming hostile. Will Macey’s spy skills and Hale’s con-man ways be enough to outsmart a ruthless gang? Or will they have to seek out the ultimate inside girl to help?

The worlds of Heist Society and the Gallagher Girls collide in Ally Carter’s fast-paced, high-stakes and tantalizing new story. Get a behind the scenes glimpse as Ally delivers an irresistible thriller that is full of her signature style and savvy twists.

-----------
First line:
Situated on the upper east side with a glorious view of the park, the Athenia Hotel was supposed to be some kind of Olympus, high in the clouds above the mere mortals, a place for playing and drinking, and dancing like gods.
----------
Source:
Netgalley
----------
Rating:
5 stars out of 5
----------
Ally Carter has written another amazing book! It's a cross-over between Gallagher Girls and Heist Society, the very thing everybody has been waiting for! The main characters, though, are not our two favorite kick-butt heroines, but two of our favorite sidekicks. Macey and Hale are no strangers to high society events. Both of them hide behind their masks and nobody ever suspects that they are not the spoiled rich they appear to be. That is, until they meet each other. When the party they're attending is taken hostage, they must race against time to save the guests without compromising their covers.

Ally does an amazing job of infusing humor into serious situation in her books. When I'm looking for a laugh, I pick up one of her books. Double Crossed does not disappoint. I don't know about you, but I love it in the Heist series when they talk about all the different scams they could run. Double Crossed has that, too.

This is an amazing novella for fans of Gallagher Girls and Heist Society. Or even if you're looking for an introduction to either series, this is a great way to jump in!

No comments:

Post a Comment